I Am A Superhero. Well Kind Of

Standard

Recently I requested a very talented friend of mine turn me into a superhero. I got a great chuckle out of it but the more I seriously thought about it, I don’t need to be a superhero at all. In fact, I believe we are all built to be superheroes in our own unique way. Everything I need to help me navigate through this world is built inside of me. I was created in such a way that I could move mountains if I figured out how to tap into my talents. I have many powerful qualities that we could call superpowers. I’ve come to realize that I can fly above each and very trial and tribulation that shows itself in my path. I can rise above or fly above hatred, regret, wrong doing, mistreatment. You name it, when I have to, I will fly. So the point here is we have to use what we have to turn ourselves into the superhero we were meant to be. No one can sketch our character or write our story. That responsibility falls with each and every one of us.

Sometimes when you are critical of yourself it becomes easy to get caught up in the things you feel may need to be fixed. It’s really, really important though that you don’t lose sight of the good, of the very things that make you stand out. I believe, at least for me that my strength, determination, perseverance and ability to reason can be threatening if you are on the receiving end of it. However, if I fall victim to the people that try and turn that quality into a negative to benefit themselves, then my strength actually becomes debilitating. At least, in my mind I have come to believe it does. The lesson here. Never let anyone make you believe your strengths are actually weaknesses. Be proud of your strengths and don’t be afraid to use them, especially if you are standing tall for something you believe to be important. Stop apologizing for who you are and how you are and stand quietly and confidently tall. Once you start to explain, the game is over. Walk in with a sign that reads I Rock, period! No explanation needed and see how the situation unfolds a bit differently. I tried that approach today. I stood tall, I called on all my strengths to respond to whatever was thrown at me, I didn’t apologize for what I was doing or for who I was, I said no, I clearly defined what I would not accept and I stuck to my guns. And when I walked outside, I got my cape stuck in the door. Silly me.

8 thoughts on “I Am A Superhero. Well Kind Of

  1. I think some people have a problem with strong women, they enjoy pulling you down so they can keep you with them in the gutter or wherever it is they like to stay. Being positive and using your personal strengths are what make us all different. You go girl!

    Like

Waiting to hear your thoughts....