Just Make The Choice

Standard

“Your life does not get better by chance, it gets better by change.” –Jim Rohn  

I decided to choose a new mantra today. Eventually I get to the point where something has got to change. Sometimes it is simply my thoughts that are dragging me down. It’s so easy to wallow in self pity when I have a tough stretch but when I can’t change what’s going on around me, I have to change the way I perceive what’s happening around me.

Today, I will have faith that everyone will handle their responsibilities without my getting involved.

That was my mantra today and I repeated it over and over again until I finally believed everyone would be just fine without me. As crazy as it sounds, my son was able to do his homework on his own and my daughter survived the school day after all the drama with her friends over the weekend. I am sitting here for the first night in a long time where I don’t have to help someone do something. And you know what? It feels fantastic.

Sometimes, all you have to do is believe everything will turn out alright. I always say, when you expect the worst, you get the worst, so if you want better, believe it really will be better. 

We cannot control our circumstances but we can choose how we respond and adapt. As the pendulum changes direction and is slowly working its way back up, I am grateful for the hard times because when they finally do pass, I appreciate the good days even more.

“The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore, all progress depends on the unreasonable man.” -George Bernard Shaw

16 thoughts on “Just Make The Choice

  1. I can’t whistle, but that sounds like an amazingly big step for a “control freak.” 🙂 I felt a sudden rush of fresh air just reading that one. You trust others will handle their own business so you don’t have to step in on it. Woosh! Now, that’s no guarantee you won’t step in tomorrow. And, maybe stepping in would be needed tomorrow or the next day. But, I bet taking your hands off the wheel once in a while really lets the top of the convertible down so you can cruise Santa Monica Blvd. instead of hugging the fifty-foot safe driving space limit.

    Liked by 1 person

Waiting to hear your thoughts....